About Us

Founded in 1948, the California Weed Science Society (CWSS):

  • Provides professional education and information exchange on weed science
  • Provides a forum on public issues in weed science
  • Encourages research in weed science
  • Supports college students seeking a career in weed science
  • Facilitates teamwork with individuals, agencies, and organizations in weed science
2017/2018 CWSS Board of Directors
President
Maryam Khosravifard

Sr. Environmental Scientist (Supervisor)
State Water Resource Control Boards
Phone: (916) 390-2823
maryam.khosravifard@yahoo.com

Director - Steering
Ben Duesterhaus

Technical Services Agronomist
Mid Valley Ag Services
Phone (209) 351-7089
bduesterhaus@midvalleyag.com

Vice President
Joe Vassios  

Account Manager, Aquatics
United Phosphorous, Inc.
Phone: (719) 740-9291
joseph.vassios@uniphos.com

Director - Non-conference Education
Whitney Brim-DeForest, PhD
UCCE Rice Advisor
Sutter, Yuba, Placer & Sacramento Counties
Phone: (541) 822-7515
wbrimdeforest@ucanr.edu



Secretary
Travis Bean

Assistant Cooperative Extension Specialist
Department of Botany and Plant Sciences
University of California, Riverside
Phone: (951) 827-5130
trbean@ucr.edu

Director - Membership
Josie Hugie

Crop Research Manager
Wilbur Ellis
Phone: (916) 216-8744
josie.hugie@wilburellis.com

Past President
Katherine Walker

Technical Service
BASF Corporation
Phone: (919) 358-6123
katherine.walker@basf.com

Director - Student Liaison
Scott Oneto

Farm Advisor/County Director
UC Coop Ext/ Central Sierra
Phone: (209) 223-6834
sroneto@ucanr.edu

Director - Finance
Dave Blodget

Aquatic Market Manager
Alligare LLC
Phone: (661) 599-3231
dave.blodget@alligare.com

Director - Public Relations
Gil Del Rosario

MLA, PCA; Sales Representative
Dow AgroSciences LLC
Phone: (949) 878-7371
gmdelrosario@dow.com

Business and Office Managers (non-voting)
Spencer Halsey & Celeste Elliott

CWSS Business Office
P.O. Box 1961
West Sacramento, CA 95691
Phone: (831) 442-3536
Fax: (831) 442-2351
spencer@papaseminars.com (Spencer)
manager@cwss.org (Celeste)